Things are looking up!

Sorry this post is a little late – February was an exciting month, although it was mainly filled with studying!

Dissertation

DSC_0005_5

My dissertation turned out it be awesome. I can honestly say writing that report was challenging; Blood, sweat and tears went into that thing! At one point I was so frustrated with myself that I spent an entire evening lying on the floor not sure what to do! In the end, like everything in life, it came down to one decision: sit at the bottom the mountain and cry, or get up and climb. 8am starts in library study rooms became my best friend and by the time I got to my discussion chapter I had fallen back in love my topic. Deducing the volcanic history of the Isle of Rum was like playing a geological game of Cluedo! It was the felsic magma, with the fault breccia in the ring fault! Okay so not the best example, but drawing out the diagrams and coming up with ideas was a lot of fun! I honestly though the mark was a typo when I saw it – over 80%! All the hard work was worth it!

Semester 2

This term I am studying GIS and igneous and volcanic processes. Volcanology and igneous petrology are topics that I absolutely love, and I am thoroughly enjoying the lectures and practical sessions! One of the topics we are studying is the mantle plume debate. This is the debate on the origins and mechanisms of ‘hotspot’ volcanism and whether these can be explained by alternative theories such as plate tectonics. Reading up of these theories has become my favourite form of ‘productive procrastination’.

Geomission update!

Geomission Banner

With a little more time to spare I have been working on the Geomission education resource. The adventures of a Sandy the geologist and Robert the ranger are growing, with the first draft of chapter one complete! I had a brilliant afternoon making a mess in the kitchen, trying to build a cardboard seismometer. The big challenge is simplifying the geology enough for primary school children to understand, while trying to remain as true to the science as possible. I’m not sure how well we are doing at the moment but it is great fun working it out! The real aim is to simply inspire children to be curious about the world around them and question what they see: Why is there a cliff here, where did this stone come from, what is a volcano? We also hope to highlight that earth science (or STEM in general) is a career for both women and men.

 

For the first time since the disaster of my A-level years, I am excited to see what the future holds! I am so thankful to everyone who has supported me over the past few years!

Leave a Reply

